SpreuStroh (Chaff and Straw)

Development of a processing technology for chaff straw within the scope of the joint project Technical and Technological Development of an Innovative Value Chain Chaff&Straw of kluge GmbH.

Starting point & objective

The starting point for the cooperation project between the company kluge GmbH from Königswartha and the University of Applied Sciences Zittau/Görlitz was the observation that, on the one hand, new possibilities for the utilization of agricultural residual biomasses are being intensively sought worldwide and, on the other hand, even in modern harvesting processes, the biomass chaff, which is of high quality in all respects, is still distributed unused back into the harvesting areas due to a lack of efficient harvesting and transport technologies.

On the basis of an innovative harvesting process, which realizes the recovery of the grain kernel unpurified in a mixture with chaff and chopped straw in one pass of the harvesting machine, the project was therefore developed to realize a complete value chain for the novel biomass mixture Chaff&Straw, from the special harvesting technology to new transport, handling and storage technologies to the specifically processed harvested product, also for large industrial needs. This is because chaff alone would be available throughout Germany in quantities of around 10 million tons.

The farmers involved in this process should thus be enabled to achieve new yield opportunities in largely self-support along the entire value chain, to become equal partners of new industrial markets and, in addition to protecting their own production area soil, to make significantly improved contributions to the protection of the environment.

At the Institute for Process Development, Peat and Natural Products Research at the Zittau/Görlitz University of Applied Sciences, the possibilities of central processing of the product Chaff Straw recovered by the harvester are being demonstrated within the scope of this project. During the research work different application possibilities for SpreuStroh have to be considered and application-oriented processing technologies have to be made available in a modular process chain. The focus is on the one hand on the comprehensive characterization of the starting material chaff straw and the resulting possibilities for processing the material. On the other hand, processes of the classical mechanical process engineering (crushing, sorting, classifying) are selected and tested in order to process chaff straw in such a way that it becomes possible to make this novel product available for special fields of application.

Contact

Foto: Dr.-Ing. Maria Schäfer
Dr.-Ing.
Maria Schäfer
ZIRKON
Campus 02763 Zittau
Hochwaldstraße 14
Building Z XV, Room 1.02
+49 3583 612-4314

Partners

The project is funded by

keyboard_arrow_up
keyboard_arrow_up

SpreuStroh

"Entwicklung einer Aufbereitungstechnolgie für SpreuStroh“ im Rahmen des Verbundvorhabens „Technische und technologische Entwicklung einer innovativen Wertschöpfungskette SpreuStroh“ der kluge GmbH.

 

Ausgangspunkt & Zielsetzung

Ausgangspunkt für das Kooperationsprojekt zwischen der Firma Kluge GmbH aus Königswartha und der Hochschule Zittau/Görlitz war die Feststellung, dass weltweit einerseits intensiv nach neuen Möglichkeiten der Nutzung landwirtschaftlicher Reststoff-Biomassen gesucht wird und andererseits auch in modernen Ernteverfahren die in allen Belangen hochwertige Biomasse Spreu mangels effizienter Ernte- und Transporttechnologien noch immer ungenutzt in die Ernteflächen zurückverteilt wird.

Auf der Basis eines innovativen Ernteverfahrens, das die Bergung des Getreidekorns ungereinigt in einem Gemisch mit Spreu und gehäckseltem Stroh in einer Überfahrt der Erntemaschine realisiert, wurde daher das Vorhaben entwickelt, für die neuartige Biomassemischung SpreuStroh eine komplette Wertschöpfungskette von der speziellen Erntetechnik über neue Transport-, Umschlags- und Lagertechnologien bis zum gezielt aufbereiteten Ernteprodukt auch für große industrielle Bedarfe zu realisieren. Denn allein Spreu stünde deutschlandweit mit etwa 10 Mill. Tonnen zur Verfügung.

Den in diesem Prozess beteiligten Landwirten soll damit ermöglicht werden, neue Ertragsmöglichkeiten in weitgehender Eigenleistung entlang der gesamten Wertschöpfungskette zu erzielen, gleichwertiger Partner neuer industrieller Märkte zu werden und neben dem Schutz seiner eigenen Produktionsfläche Boden erheblich verbesserte Beiträge zum Schutz der Umwelt zu leisten.

Am Institut für Verfahrensentwicklung, Torf- und Naturstoff-Forschung der Hochschule Zittau/Görlitz werden im Rahmen dieses Projektes die Möglichkeiten der zentralen Aufbereitung des mit der Erntemaschine geborgenen Produktes SpreuStroh aufgezeigt. Während der Forschungsarbeiten gilt es verschiedene Anwendungsmöglichkeiten für SpreuStroh ins Auge zu fassen und in einer modular aufgebauten Prozesskette anwendungsorientierte Aufbereitungstechnologien zur Verfügung zu stellen. Dabei liegt der Fokus zum einen auf der umfassenden Charakterisierung des Ausgangsmaterials SpreuStroh und die sich daraus ergebenden Möglichkeiten das Material aufzubereiten. Und zum anderen werden Prozesse der klassischen mechanischen Verfahrenstechnik ausgewählt (Zerkleinern, Sortieren, Klassieren) und getestet, um SpreuStroh so aufzuarbeiten, dass es möglich wird dieses neuartige Produkt für spezielle Anwendungsgebiete zur Verfügung zu stellen.

Ansprechpartner

Dr.-Ing.
Maria Schäfer
Institut für Torf- und Naturstoffforschung
Standort 02763 Zittau
Hochwaldstraße 14
Gebäude Z XV, Raum 1.02
+49 3583 612-4314
Weitere Informationen
Das Projekt wird gefördert von

keyboard_arrow_up